Use your Smartphone as a Scientific Calculator.

Posted on February 11, 2011 by

0



Alright let me preface this by saying I LOVE my DROID! I do however realize that there are a few of you using iphones out there so this article will also contribute to your misguided approach to telecommunications.

You know those $100 plus graphic calculators that are absolutely essential for High School Math/Science? You can now install one on your smart phone for virtually nothing.

If you have an Android based smart phone go to the App Marketplace and do a search for Doug Melton. You will get three free graphic calculator emulators, a TI-83, Ti-86 and TI-85. These calculators are really straight forward and work identically to their physical counterparts. They appear in your apps list under Andy-86 (Andy for Android).

(As an aside he also has a really cool app for your kids on long road trips that is a variation of the license plate game called St8Pl8)

For those of you who want to see what educational realted apps are on my Droid you can check them out at http://www.appbrain.com/user/jbullington/boces

Okay iphone users, there is a Ti-83 emulator available through the app store for $.99 called Pl83 Graphing Calculator. I can’t give you a first hand review (maybe Adrien or one of you can comment on it below) because I break out into hives when touching an iphone.

If you find any other cool calculators please post them below so everyone can check it out.

When I get a chance I’m going to toss up a few more apps from my list with complete reviews and where they might be integrated into your curriculum. I’m checking out an interesting one now called Socrative which converts your internet enabled device into student response system.

